Daily Prompt: Audience of One

Daily Prompt: Audience of One  Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.

B,

I knew it was over the night you left.   It felt like a final goodbye.   I wish you would’ve been a man and told me the truth.   I’m curious to know why you left, but I think I know the answer.

I heard you married the other girl, and now you’re divorced.  Who else did you cheat on her with?

Let’s see…..I’m 40 now, so that makes you….50. I wonder if you ever grew up. I thought I still loved/missed you, but now I know I loved/missed what we had.   I can’t deny it…it was blast to be with you.  I have absolutely no regrets.  But I was 23, that’s way too young to know about true love.

I have a few things to thank you for.

1.  Sushi. LOVE IT.
2.  Documentaries.
3.  How to make a good martini.

4.  How to tell a good joke (timing you always said).

5.  The best advice you EVER gave me:   Always try something first, then you can say you’ve done it, even if you didn’t like it.   Like oysters.  Vile little things.

6.  Knowing what to NOT  allow  in a relationship (“I didn’t sleep with her, she only gave me  head, so I don’t know why you’re upset.”  I can’t BELIEVE how stupid I was then!! I must have been completely punch drunk in lust with you).

Thanks for all of that.

You said I would never meet anyone as great as you.  Just so you know, you were 100% wrong. I met a great guy and I’ve been with him for 10 years (married for 7) and he’s
everything you’re not: kind, respectful, loving.   Most important of all: he loves me, and doesn’t care that my skin is a different color.

I used to wish that you’d rot in hell.  But now I pray that you’re well, and that you’ve met someone special.  But I can assure you that you will NEVER meet anyone as great as me.

Bastard.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Audience of One

  1. Well said! It’s very similar to something I would say to my ex Glenn – especially as one of his comments was you’ll never meet anyone like me again. I said I hope I never do! Xxx

  2. Pingback: Audience of One – A letter to God « Just another wake-up call

  3. I really like this! It’s so nice to see someone who can actually look at the good qualities in a relationship-gone-wrong.

    It seems that most people today prefer the self-righteous approach of condemning the *other* party for everything while trying to play the part of the innocent party. This approach, however, is most generally viewed as immature and quite frankly, it’s hard and tiring to read. That cannot be said of your post, however. Good job!

    • WOW! Thank you so much! I still have a soft spot for that guy. But I know now he was put in my life for a reason. When it was time to fall in love, I was able to fall freely and know that I was going to be ok. Thank you for reading. 😀

  4. Pingback: FOREVER SILENT « hastywords

  5. Pingback: Musings: On Peace… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a comment