Daily Prompt: Embrace the Ick

Think of something that truly repulses you. Hold that thought until your skin squirms. Now, write a glowing puff piece about its amazing merits.

Ok…here I go….

I hate bananas.  Absolutely HATE them.  Fried, dyed, or laid to the side, I HATE THEM.   The look, the smell, the texture, the taste, even the WORD makes me want to vomit.  Ghastly, slimy, repulsive things…GAH! Did I mention that I hate bananas?  In fact, I made my husband a banoffee pie (his favorite) once,  I had to use GLOVES just to handle them.

However….

They’re a great source of potassium and vitamin B6, they look like they would be part of a healthy breakfast, and they have their own carrying case!!!!   A smoothie wouldn’t be a smoothie without a one (no, I don’t like smoothies for that very reason). Elvis wouldn’t be Elvis without peanut butter and banana sandwiches!  Even Gwen Stefani used the word in her smash hit “Hollaback Girl” and made it sound catchy:   “This $#!+ is bananas! B-A-N-A-N-A-S!”.     How cool is that?!?!?

Regardless, I still hate them.  Blergh.

😉

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Embrace the Ick

      • I wish I liked them too. I think I told you about my experience as a child. My aunt gave me a banana when I was 5, I threw it up. Some years later I put one in my lunch box, when I tried to eat it, I choked. I should have known when I opened my box the smell repulsed me. Sorry, I tried!

Leave a Reply

