Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap

This is my first attempt at the Weekly Writing Challenge. Please be gentle with me.

My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal one evening. We were seated next to a family with a child who started screaming in my ear as soon as I sat down.

I asked (more like begged) the hostess if we could be seated elsewhere.  As we walked by their table, the mother shot me a dirty look and said, “She’s a child….everybody likes children.”

So I shot her an even dirtier look and said, “Ok….great…I’ll bring my dog and when he barks, I’ll say “He’s a dog….everybody likes dogs.”  Zing.

Don’t get me wrong….I like kids.  I like well-behaved, well-mannered, respectful kids.  Not everyone wants to sit in a restaurant with kids that scream and run riot all over the place.

That’s why I wasn’t surprised when I came across this article last year:   http://pittsburgh.cbslocal.com/2011/07/16/mcdains-restaurant-children-policy-in-effect/

I certainly applaud the owner’s courage.   If your kids are bad, leave them with a babysitter.  But if they can conduct themselves appropriately, then yes, bring them along!  It would be great to see.

Parents just need to remember:  Your children may be the center of YOUR universe, but they are not the center of THE Universe.

😉

6 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap

  1. “So shot her an even dirtier look and said, “Ok….great…I’ll bring my dog and when he barks, I’ll say “He’s a dog….everybody likes dogs.” Zing.”

    Oh my, let me wipe the tears from my eyes (as I continue to laugh). I love the “zing”. You did well on your first challenge. I hope you take on more DP challenges in the future. (y)

  2. Oh ! Your zinger had me on the floor… 😆 I hear you. If kids behave then let them eat out and if they don’t take out and calm them down… As a mom of twin, I had to make that call every time we planned an outing. BTW your link on DP is broken. Have added it for you. 😉

Leave a Reply

