Stuck

Wow!

I have received a lot of great reviews of my blog so far (thank you)! All of your kind words have motivated me to continue blogging.

As I sit here trying to figure out what I wanted to blog about, it hit me: I HAVE WRITER’S BLOCK! I’m stuck! What would Stephen King do in times like this??

STUCK……what a strange word. The Macmillan Dictionary defines stuck as:

1. caught or held in a position so that you cannot move

2. unable to solve a problem and continue working

It got me thinking about the idea of being ‘stuck’.

Whether you are in a bad relationship, an unfulfilling job, or a bad habit, being stuck is very debilitating, and can leave you with a pretty stale outlook on life. So what do we do when we’re stuck? It’s not like we can rub Goo Gone on our partner or boss like we can on a gum-stuck shoe (if I could invent something like that, I’d be a rich woman). We have to use a different and more difficult kind of Goo Gone: change.

My thinking is that you first have to admit you’re stuck and that you want to be unstuck. Next would be to seek advice from a trusted friend, clergyman or even a mentor (if you are fortunate to have one). Then (and this is the biggie), would be to take action: go to couples counseling, dust off your resume, join a gym, quit smoking, etc. Taking action is not for the faint-hearted. It takes a lot of work and dedication to change your life.

Of course, there is another option: you can choose to stay stuck.  Fear of the unknown is debilitating as well. I guess fear would be nasty gum stuck to the proverbial shoe.

But what if being unstuck is worse than being stuck? Ah, my beloved readers,
that’s the risk you have to take. The only way to answer that question is to change.

Hmmm….I guess I didn’t have writer’s block after all….

😉

2 thoughts on “Stuck

Leave a Reply

